Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
2016 Award Nomination

Guidelines for each award can be found on the MLA Awards webpage. For general information, questions about the nomination form, procedures, or award category criteria, please contact Maggie Snow, MLA Awards Committee Chair.

Sorry, the 2016 Award Nominations deadline has past. 

Award Descriptions and Criteria

  • William G. Asp Distinguished Career Award
    Nominated by current MLA members and selected by the MLA Awards Committee
    Presented in recognition of distinguished service to the profession and for active and innovative leadership in the development of libraries and the improvement of library services. Candidates must have demonstrated support of the Minnesota Library Association over their career. Recipients will receive a certificate presented at the Annual Conference and $300.

  • Minnesota Library Association Above & Beyond Award
    Nominated by current MLA members and selected by the MLA Awards Committee
    The Minnesota Library Association Above & Beyond Award is given in recognition of a recent group or individual contribution significant to the Minnesota library community. The award can be given to up to three recipients per year. Recipients receive a certificate, recognition at the Annual Conference, and $100. Individuals and groups receive the same level of recognition. Recipients do not have to be members of MLA.
    Eligible candidates:
    • Academic, public, school, and special libraries
    • Any level of library staff, work team, or department
    • Friends, trustees, foundations, and other library supporters
    • Legislators|

    Criteria: Projects, programs, or services that demonstrate innovation and/or outstanding dedication and have local or statewide impact.

  • Lars Steltzner Intellectual Freedom Award
    Nominated by any citizen of Minnesota and selected by the Intellectual Freedom Committee
    Tthe Lars Steltzner Intellectual Freedom Award is given in recognition of an educator who has contributed to preserving students’ rights to intellectual freedom and opposing censorship in a school setting. The award was established in 2008 and is named in honor of Lars Steltzner, an elementary school teacher, media specialist, director of technology, active member of the Minnesota Coalition for Intellectual Freedom, and strong supporter of students’ intellectual freedom rights.
    Eligible candidates: teachers, librarians, educators, school administrators
    Criteria: Nominees will have championed students’ intellectual freedom (the freedom to read, write, think and speak) through actions and/or support for students’ rights.

2016 Award Nomination Form

Submit your nomination(s) on the form below: 


Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News